My love affair….

With coffee! Now get your minds out of the gutter people!!!

It’s been a love/hate relationship, I’ll admit. I even wrote a song, or part of one about it-

(sang to the tune of Toni Basil’s Mickey)

Oh coffee you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind

Hey coffee, hey coffee

Oh coffee you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind

Hey coffee, hey coffee

Oh coffee you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind

Hey coffee, hey coffee

Oh coffee you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind

Hey coffee!

Hey Coffee

You’ve been around all day-and that’s a little long

You thought I’d drink you up, but now you know you’re wrong

Why can’t I stay awake, oh this day is surely long, Coffee!

I can’t drink you too hot-or you will burn my tongue

But I need your caffeine now, baby please cool down,

Every day about this time, I get to wantin’ more Coffee….

Oh Coffee, what a pity, caffeine stops me up-

I love to see your color in my Coffee cup-

Oh Coffee, you’re so warm, there’s never enough,

It’s drinks like you Coffee,

I have to add that creamer, coffee

Don’t get cold on me, Coffee

I didn’t drink it growing up. I did ask for some once, to which I got the reply “It will stunt your growth.” Well I don’t know what mutant they thought they were talking too-but I quickly informed them that I DID NOT have a growth!!

I tried it in high school when I needed to stay up and write a term paper. Honestly-I didn’t know what all the buzz was about-since all that caffiene just gave me a stomach ache! Didn’t drink it much until years, and years later my walking partner turned me onto iced coffee from Starbucks. You know they were one of the first ones to try it. IT was good-with enough artificial sweetener and cream. I got hooked, then I went to the hot stuff, then to the strong stuff, then on to other things, flavors, whip cream on top, frozen. I was a goner for sure. Thanks Marilyn-you made me an addict and then enabled me too! She would often call-“let’s go for coffee!!”. I went. I got sucked into the world that is coffee beans-a smell so potent when ground it can almost induce me into a comatose state. I almost get lightheaded when I go into a coffee shop. You know-when you open the door to go in and that first breath of coffee aroma hits your nasal passages and sends that message to your brain. AHHHHHHHHHHH-I actually almost faint. Now-don’t get me wrong-I know those places offer non-coffee drinks (blaspheme!)-and other delectable treats. One coffee house near us has the most wonderful Strawberry 3-layer cake. As if the coffee isn’t enough to send you into spasms of pleasure. That cake alone will do it!  I don’t care what form it comes in really-frappacino, latte, mocchacino, macchiato, cappucino, esspreso-as long as I can flavor it like candy or  some other cool, warm flavor-I LOVE IT!!!  In fact-here are a few good things about coffee

Health Benefits of Coffee:

  • Coffee contains antioxidants that help prevent cancer and heart disease.
  • Studies indicate that regular coffee drinkers are up to 80% less likely to develop Parkinson’s disease.
  • Drinking two cups daily could reduce the risk of colon cancer by 25% and halve the risk of gallstones.
  • Emerging evidence suggests that coffee may help manage asthma, stop a headache, boost mood, and even prevent cavities.
  • Decaf coffee has been found to provide the same stimulative effect as regular coffee, without the caffeine.

Now I haven’t tried it for all those cures or remedies-but I do know a cup of coffee mixed  with a great friend’s company is good for what ails you! I know-I HAVE tried that one.

Gotta go now-my coffee cup is empty :-)

Gotta go now-my coffee cup is empty 🙂

Rhonda

~ by Rhonda on April 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
