God Bless America, Land that I Love…

I love that song!!  It’s one of my favorites-and when Beka used to sing it as a young child-the oceans had PHONE instead of foam. That made it even sweeter-

God bless America,
Land that I love,
Stand beside her and guide her
Thru the night with a light from above;

From the mountains, to the prairies,
To the oceans white with foam,
God bless America,
My home, sweet home.
God bless America,
My home, sweet home.


Today DH and I went to the unveiling of a Veterans Memorial in the city park of our town.  We didn’t have any specific plans for today, and when he mentioned it yesterday it sounded like it would be fun.  Well-it wasn’t FUN. It was heartwarming, touching and thought provoking. And I did very much enjoy it.  The rain held off, and the sun came out occasionally from behind the clouds-so it wasn’t as hot as it could have been.  They had WW II veterans, and there were veterans there from every branch of the armed forces, of every age, and ethnicity.  I shook several hands, thanking them for their service to our country, past, present and future. There was patriotic music that made my heart swell with pride that God allowed me to be born in America.  A country that although some are losing faith in, I am not. I have faith only in God and his ability to protect us. A country where we have Freedom of Speech, and we aren’t stoned to death or hanged for speaking out against leaders or government. A country where we have Freedom of Religion-and we don’t have to hide to worship God. We have so many freedoms here, that we take for granted-I know I do.  I know that there are also things that we don’t like about this country, and protest against and that sort of thing-but the fact that we have the right to do even that-is in of itself  is amazing.  I took some pictures today that I wanted to share with you. The 3 veterans that I’ll showcase below served in WWII.  The oldest gentleman must have been 90-something-he was a gem.  I hope you enjoy them, and say an extra big Thank You tonight when you pray that you live in America!

Canon Black and White for photo websiteIMG_1580 adjusted for photo blog

I thought it was neat that these young men listened so intently as he told his story.

I thought it was neat that these young men listened so intently as he told his story.

What a handsome bunch, huh? The past and the future.

What a handsome bunch, huh? The past and the future.

What a beautiful Memorial

What a beautiful Memorial

Happy Memorial Day~

Rhonda

~ by Rhonda on May 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
