Time Flies When You’re Having Fun?

Well, I’m not having fun, and it’s STILL flying!!!! As of today I have been unemployed for 3 weeks. Where has the time gone?? Next week starts the onslaught of planning what I intend to do with the rest of my life. What classes do I want to take, etc…. It’s both exciting and daunting. I haven’t been to school in a very, very long time. Except for the Spanish class I took recently-no homework has been done in many a year! But I can’t take more weeks of what I have been doing! Granted-it is nice to be available for lunch dates with friends, former co-workers and my hubby. And then there is the multitude of Goodwill and Thrift stores calling my name (and some of the workers may know me by name??). Oh yeah-also the 4 hour round trips to exit 152 off of I24 West-to deliver and reclaim my mom from my sister. Don’t forget the doctor’s appointments I no longer have to wrangle time off for. But these things COST MONEY!!!!! None of it is free! You can’t even drink alcohol and wallow in your own misery-that costs money too!!! Not that I am inclined to do that, of course.

It’s scary. I know people who lost their jobs 6 months, 8 months, 12 months and 2 years ago. Where are all the jobs? And a lot of them had the type of job I had (not as a travel agent), but jobs that aren’t just on every corner. The kind of jobs that when people get them, they keep them-some until they retire from them. So, as of Monday, the break is officially over. I might need the occasional nap on certain days. I’m told looking for a job is hard work!

~ by Rhonda on June 4, 2009.

One Response to “Time Flies When You’re Having Fun?”

  1. Goodness! I am so sorry you are having a rough go of it… I hope you find a job soon!

Leave a Reply

 
