Southern Comfort

No…….not the alcoholic type! What’s wrong with you people anyway? I’m talking about the FOOD type of Southern Comfort.  Let me just tell you first I have a really great mother-in-law (forthwith referred to as MIL).  I’m sure niether of us loves 100% of everything about the other one, and we don’t agree on everything-but I got lucky on this one (hopefully the ONLY one I’ll ever have!).  And she gets along great with my Mom, who as you may or may not know-lives in my basement apartment now.  Well it’s been a really rough couple of weeks.  Taking someones car keys and independence away are not on my top list of how to make friends.  Then there’s the whole moving of possessions from her house to mine, when on moving day my sister sends me a text telling me that Mom is trying to take anything not nailed down.  But all of that is for another story another day. There’s just too much to tell and it’s still all swirling around in my brain and heart.

Where was I? Oh yeah…FOOD! How could I forget that one.  On Monday I was tired.  Because on Sunday night I went to the Atlanta Braves game to hear Katelyn sing, and we had to climb 11 forty billion steps to get to our seats (with plenty of Kleenex for the nosebleeds!).  It was fun-but there were many sore muscles involved, so I took a pain pill (actually 1/2 of a very strong pain pill), and proceeded to itch like a dog with 5000 fleas until I finally got out of bed at 3am, came all the way downstairs for some Benedryl-then got about 4 hours of sleep.  So in the middle of my short, late afternoon nap, when my dear MIL called to tell me she had fresh corn-I really could have cared less.  That is until I came downstairs, only to find her and my mom in the kitchen, preparing and cooking fresh, homegrown fried okra and creamed corn.  Did I tell you how much I LOVE my Mom and my MIL????  Mom couldn’t really remember how to make either, so my MIL kept her busy cutting the okra.  It all turned out wonderfully, and was a much needed addition to my hubbys wonderful grilled chicken. Behold the vegetable splendor……and the angels that prepared it!

Mmmmmmmmm...corn!

Mmmmmmmmm...corn!

Almost done!!

Almost done!!

Okra-on it's way to perfect, fried, brown beauty!

Okra-on it's way to perfect, fried, brown beauty!

MIL left and Mom right. Aren't they pretty girls?

MIL left and Mom right. Aren't they pretty girls?

Peet had kitchen duty-his job was to make sure the floor stayed clean :-)

Peet had kitchen duty-his job was to make sure the floor stayed clean 🙂

Oh, and no. You won’t see any pictures of the vegetables when they finished cooking. I put that camera down so fast it would make your head spin!  Are ya’ hungry yet??

Have a great day~

Rhonda

~ by Rhonda on July 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
