I want to be where you are….

No, not you!  But the people from TLC who are in the Dominican Republic.  I want to be there.  I don’t care that it’s hot, hard, emotional, heart wrenching, possibly health hazardous to me.  I want to be there.  I plan to be there this time next year!!!  I have some minor health issues right now that prevented me from going on this year’s mission trip. Nothing major, or life threatening, but just things I have to take care of, surrender, and give up to God. Nothing major, right?  When is having to give something to God NOT major?  It doesn’t matter how big or small-if it’s something you have come to love, be comfortable with (say, like you would be a best friend, favorite blankey, whatever..), something that you turn to when you’re angry, worried, stressed or just can’t cope alone.  To some it’s drugs, others prefer it in a bottle, on a plate, in a piece of plastic used to purchase things that don’t really have any other meaning but to provide comfort.  These things hold us back-one of more of them might hold you back. This post wasn’t meant to be a sermon-just to let you know that I have issues. I am dealing with them (read **food** here). I am putting myself out there to let you know that no matter how things seem on the outside-some people DO NOT have it all together.  So don’t kid yourself into thinking (or let Satan kid you) that you are the only one with hang ups!  If there is something you want to do that is being hindered by your hang-ups-GET RID OF THEM!! I am working towards doing that-so I can participate in this~http://dominican.tlcchurch.com/home

Part of doing that is a daily resolve to change-and then on October 2nd-this will happen~

http://www.tlcchurch.com/CelebrateRecoveryHP.asp

So don’t think you have to do it all alone.  There’s help; non-judgmental, free, loving and safe. Come on out and join us!  We’d love to have you! First names only, food, music, small gender specific groups and childcare.  See you there~

Rhonda

~ by Rhonda on September 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
